top of page
  • Writer's pictureMama Stace

Ball Gravy

Updated: Nov 16, 2018

Hahaha...I knew that would get your attention! Of all the Thanksgiving memories I have, I think the funniest was the fact that when I was little,

I would call the cranberry sauce "Ball Gravy". In fact, I can barely contain myself while I am typing this. Man, I was soooo cute!

Baby Picture
Baby Picture

Well, enough about me, let's talk cranberries shall we? One of the most popular staples at Thanksgiving dinner has to be the cranberries. Although I couldn't get enough of them as a child, I am not a big fan, but the people who DO like them, though, REALLY like them, so I make them :)

Some prefer the jellied kind, you know the ones that come in a can with the handy cutting marks down the side...

Canned Cranberries
Photo provided by Flickr user busbeytheelder

My Mom always served these, and the whole cranberries, which she made from scratch. Super easy, just buy a bag of fresh cranberries, rinse them, then put them in a saucepan with 1 cup of water, and 1 cup of sugar. Turn the heat to med-high, stir, and keep an eye on them. When the berries start bursting, wait about a minute and then turn the heat off. Sort of like popcorn, the berries should continue to burst. When they are cooled off, put them straight into your serving dish and refrigerate.

Homemade Cranberry sauce
Homemade Cranberry sauce

I will have to say, though, my favorite version of Cranberries has to be my Friend Terri A.'s Portofino Cranberry and Jell-o mold. It is so delicious, but unfortunately I don't have a photo, so you will just have to take my word for it! Here is the recipe:


Portofino Cranberry and Jello Mold


Ingredients:

2- 3 oz Packages Raspberry Jello

1 ¼ Cup Boiling Water

1 Can (20 oz.) Crushed Pineapple, undrained

1 Can 1# Whole Cranberry Sauce

¾ Cup Port Wine

1 Cup Chopped Pecans

8 oz. Package Cream Cheese

1 Cup Sour Cream


Directions:

1. Dissolve jello in boiling water

2. Stir in pineapple, cranberry sauce and wine

3. Chill until slightly thickened

4. Fold in nuts and turn into a 9X13 Pyrex. Chill until firm

5. Beat softened cream cheese and sour cream until smooth.

6. Spread over set Jello mold and chill

Cut in squares and serve.


Thanks Terri!


If you have any recipes to share, just click on the "Login" tab at the top and put it in the "Comments"

Stay tuned for more Thanksgiving recipes, tips and tricks from now until Turkey Day!



14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page